The SCPC was formed in 1983 as the Sunshine Coast Canoe Club to enable Sunshine Coast kayakers to compete internationally including at the Olympic Games. Flat-water kayaking, both sprint and marathon remains the core function of the SCPC. Since 2011 the club has welcomed paddlers in Dragon Boats, Outrigger canoes, Stand-UP-Paddle Boards and Plastic Sit-On-Tops. Come-and Try days are conducted regularly. The club holds two events annually:  the Maroochy Marathon and the Maroochy River Paddle (with the Marcoola SLSC) .


Grant Kenny: 1984, 1988
Paul Gilmore : 1988
Clint Robinson: 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008
Rachel Lovell: 2012



Early history can be traced from account book entry

1983 /84   Account book lists : Rankin, Dalziel, Gilmour, and Campbell  in September as paying subs & grants for Q A C F. In December, Jane Uren, Shane Dalziel, Noel Kelk, P & L Manly, Judy Mongan.

As the years go by famous names appear on the pages

1985/86/87   The names “Kenny”, “Robinson” and “Jackson” appear for the first time.  Fay Kenny, Ron Robinson & Ted Jackson – parents of Grant, Clint and Norm. Many of our club members in those days were Australian reps & wore green & gold as a club uniform

1989 Danny Topfer joined 1990 Norm Jackson.  1992 Nev Mayfield 1993  Maureen Harvey ( Jackson) , Fred & Gloria O’Neill,  Bob Hamblet & Dave Kelly

1993 Maroochy Shire Council supports the Club with $10,000 for canoes

1994 The name T Hendy appears

Early club days were held at Picnic Point

1999 Clubhouse built

2009 Ten year lease signed

2010 Extension built & opened  – John Smallwood